India All State Current chief minister Name List

Join Our Whatsapp Group

India All State Current chief minister Name List

After the recent Assembly Elections 2018, the Indian National Congress (INC) on Saturday has announced that it has captured the power in three vital states of India—Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh.

With the rounds of discussions and top-level meetings, the Congress has appointed new Chief Ministers in these states after their major victory.

Who is a Chief Minister in India?

According to the Indian Constitution, a Chief Minister is the elected head of the council of ministers in a state
In simpler words, the one who controls, rules or handles the functions of a particular state
The candidate who becomes Chief Minister oversees the day-to-day functioning of the state government
A CM is assisted by the council of ministers, which consists of cabinet ministers and deputy ministers — among others
With the help of media, the CM is responsible for communicating all policies and decisions to the people of the state
Difference between Chief Minister and Governor
The Chief Minister is vested with the ‘de facto’ executive powers and Governor is the official ‘head of the state’
The CM is appointed, and sworn in, by the Governor of the state

Here’s a list of current Chief Ministers in India

In the Republic of India, a chief minister is the head of government of each of twenty-nine states and two union territories (Delhi and Puducherry). According to the Constitution of India, at the state-level, the governor is de jure head, but de facto executive authority rests with the chief minister. Following elections to the state legislative assembly, the governor usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the government. The governor appoints the chief minister, whose council of ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly. Given he has the assembly’s confidence, the chief minister’s term is usually for a maximum of five years; there are no limits to the number of terms he/she can serve.

Download CM List Pdf from here

Since June 2018, the office of Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir has been vacant; President’s rule is in force there. Of the thirty incumbents, only one is a woman—Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal. Serving since December 1994 (for 24 years, 15 days), Sikkim’s Pawan Kumar Chamling has the longest incumbency. Amarinder Singh (b. 1942) of Punjab is the oldest chief minister while Arunachal Pradesh’s Pema Khandu (b. 1979) is the youngest.[2] Twelve incumbents belong to the Bharatiya Janata Party and five to the Indian National Congress; no other party has more than one chief minister in office.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.